Coffee and Comfort Zones

I think I am in love.

I just went to Trader Joe’s (one of my favorite places on Earth) in search of some of the staples I buy from that wonderful establishment. I came home with a load of them, and more. Okay, a lot more. 

If you don’t have a Trader Joes in your neighborhood, you should move. Well okay, don’t move, but seriously email the corporate office and demand one. The place just rocks. I actually drive 35 minutes to get to my “neighborhood” store. It’s the same either way on the highway, so I suck it up. Country living has its low points.

Anyway I was wandering today as I had already gone and done a bigger shop recently at the Stop n Shop around here. Post week-long power outage, I must say I am gun shy to fill the refrigerator. Oy.

Today at Traders I was in search of just a few things and I was just taking my time perusing through the store at all the items already stocked for the Holidays. I wasn’t buying those, but hey, it got me in the spirit anyway. Pfeffernussen, gingerbread, stuffing, turkeys, peppermint sticks. Ahh. So nice.

I realize I am getting off track not telling you about my new love.

It’s Trader Joes Wintry Blend Coffee. I know, kind of let down being just coffee, but let me say… WOW!

First, I am a pretty boring coffee drinker as far as coffee drinking goes. The kind I usually buy — and was stocking up at the sale at S&S the other day — is the same kind a  nice man  pointed  out that his 90-year-old mother drinks and ran to get some for her.

Chock Full of Nuts. I know. My own parents drank it back in their day.

My sister, the coffee diva herself, calls it crap whenever she graces us with her presence from LA. She brings her own Peets. And her own press. Like I said, coffee diva.

Back to my coffee story. So I am feeling a little boring in the coffee department. The once in a while Vanilla Latte from Starbucks is about as crazy as I go. I know, slow down right?

Well today I just said Why the Hell Not? So I picked up the Wintry Blend and read the label.

Are you ready?

Arabica coffee sprinkled with cinnamon, cloves and red and green peppercorns. Very sassy. And for a not-so-sassy coffee girl, well, it’s like a red strapless wedding gown! Well, maybe not red.

I know it’s just coffee, but let me tell you… I don’t even drink coffee past 11 a.m. and here it was 2:30 when I got home and I brewed myself a pot. It did not disappoint. It’s like an early Christmas. There is a little zing on my palate right now as I type this.

So you are probably thinking that this post is about coffee. And you’d be W-R-O-N-G!

It’s really about taking a step outside who you normally are. Trying something new. Leaving your comfort zone. And believe me, I have a very comfortable comfort zone. Some might call me stubborn, some call me chicken, some just roll their eyes and ignore my lack of willingness to step outside my box.

Well, today I did and I found something I like a lot. Yes, it’s just coffee, but who knows. 

Tomorrow I might dust off some of my computer files and give that novel I am desperate to write  another shot.

I’ll be sure to have a pot of Wintry Blend coffee to help spice things up.

How about you? Have you tried any new things in life lately?

5 thoughts on “Coffee and Comfort Zones

  1. Good for you Maria! Take that step outside your zone! That book is just short distance down the road – keep “stepping” girlfriend! I just stepped outside my “zone” with doing an photographic event on my own instead of working in conjunction with another organization like a school or charity. I learned a lot but was nervous in the process. If you don’t take chances (even very calculated chances), you’ll never grow. ; )

Leave a Reply

