Pasty White in Shorts and Other Scary New England Sights

There’s this thing about weather in New England. Even though we are supposed to have four seasons, sometimes Spring is nothing more than a month of cold rainy days and before we know it we are hitting 90 degree days before Memorial Day.

So like today, it’s a beautiful late May day that feels more like July than almost Memorial Day. Not that I am complaining. I love this warm weather. After our long snowy winter, my mind is so ready for the warmth.

My body, well that’s entirely a different story.

Take my legs for instance. They haven’t seen the light of day since September. They’ve been under wraps for more than 7 months. That is a long time. They are pasty, pasty white. And today, I bared them as I donned a pair of shorts I unearthed from the bin of summer clothes I put away in October. What can I say? I wasn’t thinking straight.

One word. Yikes.

It was not a pretty sight I have to say. Although they were shaven, that clean stubble-free look was no match for their pastiness.

Yet, it was hot, so I kept the shorts on. All day.

It’s not like I didn’t know Memorial Day was this weekend. I mean it happens every year around the same time. But let me just say, it was preceded with about 11 straight days of rain and cold. Not exactly the summer preparation type of weather. So I guess I kind of forgot that it was supposed to be the official “unofficial” kick off to summer.

But if I look on the bright side of things, it’s okay to wear white pants after Memorial Day, so if my legs are white, I guess they would be considered in fashion.

In any case, white legs or no, summer will be very warmly welcomed in my house. We have popsicles. I found some sunblock. And I’ve already started the hamburger ritual. We are good.

Summertime and the living should be easy, breezy. Looking forward to it. A lot.

3 thoughts on “Pasty White in Shorts and Other Scary New England Sights

  1. I feel your pasty pain. I wore a pencil skirt w/ open toed shoes to work and it was a scary site indeed. But I love this weather too, so I’ll endure!

  2. White women unite! Very cute. We have similar stories as moms to 8-year-olds, and 5-year-olds, but I also have a 3 year old. We’re also both journalists, but I work in TV, not print. Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

    • Thanks Liza. I look forward to writing them, but with the end of school coming all I can say is, WHEN oh WHEN? Your life sounds busy 🙂 Managing kids and a TV career must be…. challenging?

Leave a Reply

