Hairy Matters

This was the week of haircuts.

I finally took my five-year-old daughter for her first real salon haircut experience. I went to the salon before preschool and made an appointment for her. When I picked her up, I talked it up pretty good saying “You are going to love this!” and all that.

In we went and the stylist took her over, washed her hair and began trying to comb out the knots that resemble little villages that had taken over my daughter’s hair. I was chastised for using the kid’s 2-in-1 shampoo and conditioner on her beautiful hair when I should be using real shampoo and real conditioner. Funnily enough my daughter didn’t scream bloody murder when the stylist tried to detangle. I think she saves that drama for me.

My daughter wanted a short haircut and bangs. Since she is due to perform in an upcoming ballet recital, I thought it safer to keep the hair long enough for a ponytail. She rolled her eyes and said “Fine.” (My daughter, not the stylist.)

And I told her I am drawing the line at bangs. She has the same crazy cowlick and wavy hair I do and bangs are a nightmare without a blow dryer and flat-iron. My own stylist can’t even settle my cowlick down. And I pay her big bucks. So I told her no bangs on my watch. Thankfully, the stylist concurred.

So the stylist rounded out the front, kind of angled it a bit and gave my girlie the most beautiful haircut I could imagine. While she was getting the blow dry, my daughter peeked out from under her hair with little smiles and an occasionally she’d stick out her tongue at me. I think she meant this endearing telling me that yes, she enjoyed this experience.

After we were done and I turned over the 12 bucks (which is a STEAL) we headed home. All the way home, she moved her head around, shaking her newly coiffed hair and seemed to me that she was feeling like a million bucks. Amazing that even in a little girl, a new hair cut gives you a whole new outlook.

The next morning she woke up a little concerned.

“Is my hair still cut Mommy?” she worriedly asked.

After I reassured her, she went off to school excited to show off her new do.

Round 2: Sonny boy.

Feel free to think I am little nuts here. But I am pretty sure that the length of my son’s hair has a direct correlation to his freshness.

Oh I don’t mean his clean factor. I am talking about his new-found friend, S-A-S-S. That’s right.

Perhaps it’s just me projecting, but I don’t know. The longer my son’s hair gets, the more attitude he displays. Since he’s tall and looks a lot more like a 12-year-old than the nine years he is, I suppose with longer hair it’s easy for me to see him morph into that sassy tween.

I know I am judging and if you have an attitudeless tween boy with longer hair, please take no offense.

But I have to say the same for the buzz cut. I never liked them. They are cute on other people’s little boys. I just didn’t think my son should have one, but he REALLY wanted one when he was six. So I went with a heavy heart to the barber and said Go ahead. I starting getting really nervous when his hair was hitting the floor.

And then, there he was, peach fuzz head.

He loved it. I hated it.

And maybe it’s me projecting again, but with the hair that was lopped off went his good sense and nice manners. Yes, it could have been the age, but I think the buzz cut had something to do with it. He was a holy terror. So no more buzz cuts for this boy.

So back to the present.

We were very past due. The barber used to have a schedule where he was closed two days during the week. Never could understand it. That might have been the reason that up until yesterday, I wasn’t sure if it was Ringo Starr circa 1965 asking me for another bowl of cereal. My son looked like he could have fit right in the with Fab Four with side burns and a shag that was beginning to touch his collar.

He was wiping hair off his forehead and kept whining about wanting his hair cut off. And he was being fresh. Not anything to really get concerned over, but enough that I noticed it, then noticed his long hair and said Oh, yeah it’s time.

So off it came, 13 bucks later. But it was worth it so I could see the face of my little sunny outlook boy once again. He has a nice boy cut, short on the sides and back. A little longer in the front. More like Joe Jonas’s recent cut. Less Justin Bieber.

I even treated myself to a salon experience this week. Got the grays colored over, a highlight here and there, a nice warm glaze to go over and Voila. A new-ish me.

So, yes, it’s just hair. Nothing earth shattering about it. But an important part of life nonetheless. Happy Hump Day.

Leave a Reply

