A New Stage

Like so many things in which we dabble in our lives, some just sometimes get the back burner for a while. Such is this blog. I was passionate about writing and consistent with posting. And then, well, life happened.

And by life, I mean my second breast cancer diagnosis last November. It just kind of took the wind out of my sails, if I am honest about the whole thing. I found that when I wanted to write on my personal blog, or even take some time to write a few pages of a would be novel, all I could think about was that cancer sucks and it was getting in my way. I wanted to write about it, but then I didn’t want my blog, the blog I worked hard at to entertain the three people who read it, to be about that.

What I should have done was kick IT in the ass and continue writing. But instead, I concentrated on some other things, all the while thinking that sometime I’d get back to it.

And since I am at a new stage in life, almost one year out, my son in the beginning throes of middle school and my daughter all grown up in second grade, I thought I would try it again.

So let me re-introduce myself.

My name is Maria. I am a chocoholic, a romance novel junkie, aspiring novelist, stay-at-home mom to two awesome kids and wife to the most patient man on earth. I was a journalist, I won some awards for that back in the day and they are sooooo old that you can’t even find me on the New England Press Association archives. I didn’t make the cut because I guess it was easier to just dump microfiche with the names of the old reporters. What the hell is microfiche you ask? Don’t ask. It just means that I am too old for any of my awards to come up when I Google myself. (You know you have too, so don’t judge.)

I live in the sticks surrounded by pines and some of the nicest people I have met in my 46 years. Yes, I just told you my age, too. It’s okay. I am embracing it. If I say that enough I might believe it. We live with a black cat who thinks she’s the mother to our 1 1/2 year old Dalmatian. Now before you go and think that Dalmatians are high energy and hyper and all that stuff, would you say to a parent of a child — “I heard that children are high energy and hyper” if you didn’t have any? No. I didn’t think so. Children and Dalmatians are high energy and hyper and I can say this through experience. But it helps if you run them. I’m talking about the dog. The kids, well, I probably need to run them too. Actually Jackson, the dog, is really pretty mellow. Give him a chair with a pillow and he’s good to go.

I am also a habitual digresser when it comes to blogging. In my quest to attempt writing funny, which I am not at all sure that I do, I go off on silly tangents. See above.

 

In any case, here I go again. I have some more to say, what with all the new issues that come with being the mom of a middle schooler, of a second grader aspiring to be a fashion girl and that novel still hanging around. And I have a thing or two to say on breast cancer.

So, I hope you will welcome me back to your inbox, your RSS feed or Facebook status.

16 thoughts on “A New Stage

  1. Isn’t it great to be back? Welcome. Nice to meet you. I’ll start you off and follow you! My sister is seven years post breast cancer and my three first cousins all doing well after their diagnosis 15 years to one year post cancer!

  2. YAY!! Ditto on Annie’s love. You are a warrior, a muse and a dancing fool all wrapped into the cutest package around. Glad you are writing. The world is better off. Miss you. May be home for Xmas. Will def come up to those pine trees and see you. xoxox

Leave a Reply

